Religious Education

For all children Religious Education is a proper subject in its own right in the school’s curriculum. It is a rigorous academic discipline, and as such it is to be taught, developed and resourced with the same commitment as any other subject.  For those already engaged in the journey of faith Religious Education will be catechesis, and for some children Religious Education will be evangelisation, the first opportunity to hear the good news of the gospel.” (RE Curriculum Directory p.10)

Catholic Life Policy

Laudato Si’ Letter to Primary Schools for Pentecost 2021

As a Catholic School RE is one of the core subjects alongside English and Maths.  In St Norbert’s Catholic Primary School we follow the scheme recommended by the Nottingham Diocese Education Service, ‘Come and See’.  This scheme works on a topic based approach under pinned by the four key constitutions of The Second Vatican Council’.  These are: Revelation through hearing God’s word, Christian Living, the Church and Liturgy and celebration.  Each RE topic is taught over four weeks where the children explore the themes of the unit, experience the revelation of the topic in more detail through looking at scripture readings in the Bible and responding by sharing in worships and liturgies linked to the topic.  Approximately two and a half hours of RE is taught each week. Other faiths are taught through topic work and there is a whole school focus on Judaism in Autumn Term and another faith in the Summer Term.

RE Newsletters are sent out termly that keep you informed about the Topics your child is learning and how you can help them at home.


Advent Term: Myself, Welcome, Birthday, Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Celebration, Gathering, Growing

Pentecost Term: Good News, Friends, Our World, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 1

Advent Term: Families, Belonging, Waiting Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Special People, Meals, Change

Pentecost Term: Holidays and Holydays, Being Sorry, Neighbours, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 2

Advent Term: Beginnings, Signs and Symbols, Preparations Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Books, Thanksgiving, Opportunities

Pentecost Term: Spread the Word, Rules, Treasures, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 3

Advent Term: Homes, Promises, Visitors Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Journeys, Listening and Sharing, Giving All

Pentecost Term: Energy, Choices, Special Places, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 4

Advent Term: People, Called, Gift Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Community, Giving and Receiving, Self-Discipline

Pentecost Term: New Life, Building Bridges, God’s People, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 5

Advent Term: Ourselves, Life Choices, Hope Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Mission, Memorial Sacrifice, Sacrifice

Pentecost Term: Transformation, Freedom and Responsibility, Stewardship, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

Year 6

Advent Term: Loving, Vocation and Commitment, Expectations Other Faith – Judaism

Lent Term: Sources, Unity, Death and New Life

Pentecost Term: Witnesses, Healing, Common Good, Other Faith – Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam

A Journey In Love (RSHE)

A Journey in Love is a resource created by Sister Jude Groden of BRES.  It is the recommended programme of study for Catholic schools for Sex and Relationship Education, and has been written as a progressive scheme of work that supports the Religious Education, PSHE and Science curricula taught within the school.

As children progress through school, they discover more and more about themselves and the wider world.  This thirst for learning new things in all aspects of life is fostered by the school, who attempt to create a safe, stimulating environment for learning; supporting all children in their development.  Our mission statement which drives the school, attempts to achieve this goal following the Gospel values of truth and respect, understanding our journey as children of God, both special and unique.

Central to our work within the school is learning about our faith, including understanding ourselves, our position in our community and how we develop as human beings – our spiritual, social, emotional and physical development.  This is how A Journey in Love fits in to the school’s curriculum.  The scheme permeates through all levels of learning throughout the school.  It focuses on friendship, family, community, relationships and spirituality; a guide to the children’s development as young Catholics.

As you would expect, not all issues related to personal development are covered by the end of Year 6.  The content is age appropriate and is taught with sensitivity, taking into account the children’s level of maturity in regard to the delivery of the lessons.

As with all aspects of learning, children are naturally curious and many will have questions related to their lessons.  Opportunities to discuss questions form part of the lessons and, again, these are treated with care and understanding. The themes are visible on the doors of every classroom and next to RE displays to support learning.


In Reception the children learn God loving each of us in our uniqueness. The children will know and understand that God has made them unique and that although we are all different, we are special to him.

Year 1

In Year One the children learn about meeting God’s love in our family. The children know and understand that they are growing and developing as members of their own family and God’s family.

 Year 2

In Year Two the children learn about meeting God’s love in the community. The children will know and understand that they are growing and developing in a God-given community.

 Year 3

In Year Three the children learn about how we live in love. The children will know and understand the virtues essential to friendship e.g. loyalty, responsibility etc. and experience the importance both of forgiving and being forgiven and of celebrating God’s forgiveness.

Year 4

In Year 4 the children learn about how God loves us in our differences. The children will know and understand that they are all different and celebrate these differences as they appreciate that God’s love accepts us as we are and as we change.

Year 5

In Year Five the children learn about God loving them in their changing and development. The children will know and become aware of the physical and emotional changes that accompany puberty- sensitivity, mood swings, anger, boredom etc. and grow further in their understanding of God’s presence in their daily lives.

Year 6

In Year Six the children learn about the wonder of God’s love in creating new life. The children develop, in an appropriate way for their age, an understanding of sexuality and grow further in their appreciation of their dignity and worth as children of God.